After we renovated our downstairs bathroom…I was looking for something to place on this wall.  We decided to hang up these antique hand mirrors that we had purchased over the years.  We originally saw the idea years ago in Country Living Magazine.

We found some plastic mirrors in green and ivory, and also some wood mirrors.  I also have some silver plated hand mirrors that I am going to use in another room.

Once I figured out where I wanted each mirror to hang on the wall, Handy Man hung up screws.  He then put plate hangers on the backs of the mirrors to hang them on the screws.

I liked the idea of having them hung at all different heights.  I used seven of them here, to take up a good amount of space, but so that they wouldn’t overwhelm the room.  We get lots of comments from guests about the mirrors.  I think they are a bit unexpected, but fun.

These antique hand mirrors aren’t usually very expensive; most sell from $15 to $40, depending on condition and material.  We collected these over a long period of time, without even knowing what we would do with them!  I was just drawn to them, and after we saw the Country Living article, we put them up in a grouping in our last house.  We did the same here.

I still watch for antique hand mirrors when we go to antique stores (along with vintage Fiesta dishes, of course).  Is there anything that you watch for, or collect, when looking in antique or consignment stories?

Linking up to: I Heart NapTime/ Under the Table and Dreaming/It’s So Very Cheri/The Pumpkin Patch/ Somewhat Simple/Fireflies and Jelly Beans/House of Hepworth/My Romantic Home/Finding Fabulous/It’s a Blog Party/Tidy Mom/Funky Junk Interiors/a Little Lovely/Thrifty Decor Chick/House of Grace/Cottage Instincts

