Ok, so I’m kind of embarrassed to show these “before” pictures, but here goes.  Please remember that we started this the DAY after Christmas last year.  There are Christmas decorations half up and half down, and Handy Man had started to bring tools out…dirty dishes were laying around and I said:

“WAIT! I have to take a BEFORE picture!”  😀

Now, I know what some of you might be thinking: “The before isn’t THAT bad!”  However, this is a case where from “afar”, nothing looked too bad…but up close? *shudder* The ivory colored sink was scratched up and dinged beyond belief.  The cabinets, while sturdy, were grimy with cooking spills that I could not get clean for the life of me. The counter top was stained, and the caulking between the backsplash and the counter was coming out.  The stainless steel appliances were brand new ones that we bought when we moved in.  I don’t even want to tell you how disgusting the insides of the original stove and refridgerator were!  The vinyl floor was once white, but it was so scuffed up and dirty and impossible to clean…some of the seams in the vinyl floor were starting to separate…

The layout was okay but not great for us.  Look at the second photo, above, again.  See that section of counter top, with the microwave on it?  That was actually an island, and when we moved in, that whole island was sitting smack dab in the MIDDLE of the kitchen floor.  I hated that island.  I know people love islands, and it seems like any kitchen that isn’t tiny has one nowadays.  But I hated it.  Rob also hated it; the way we cooked and moved around in the kitchen, it just didn’t work for us.  It always seemed to be in the way.

So one day, Handy Man just moved it…I didn’t want to move it until we were ready to renovate the kitchen.  I was convinced that it would be screwed down to the floor and that there would be all kinds of holes underneath it in the (already ugly) floor that would look horrible if we moved it.  However, Rob just got TIRED of it one day, and he moved it.  He shoved it against that far wall…turns out the island wasn’t even screwed or nailed to the floor at all! That definately freed up a lot ofspace in our kitchen; it seemed HUGE in there after moving the island aside.  (I wish I could find some photos of the island in the middle of the kitchen, but I can’t right now.  If I do find some, I’ll post them.) There were a few small holes in the floor where the island must have originally been screwed down…however, the floor was so ugly anyway, what were a few more holes, right?

I know this is kind of a cliff-hanger…but you’ll have to come back in a few days to see more!!  “During” and “after” photos to come! Stay tuned…

