Yesterday we went to a HUGE Holiday Craft Fair. This craft fair is put on by Castleberry Fairs and Festivals, and it is awesome!  This show was at the Rockingham Park Race Track in Salem, NH.  There were TONS of people there, and tons of vendors. There was so much to look at: jewelry, woodworking, Christmas crafts, toys, clothing, candy, specialty foods…I can’t even name everything.  We went last year, but we just had to go again this year.

2008 Nov 127

2008 Nov 128

Crafty Grandma and Grandpa gave Handy Boy a little money to spend at the fair, so he was thrilled!  He spent most of it on a turkey-shaped chocolate lollipop (!!!) and a ginormous chocolate chip cookie…then was bummed when he didn’t have enough leftover to buy a small, handmade wooden car.  Too bad, so sad, said Handy Man!  (Mean old Daddy.)  Handy Boy put the rest into his piggy bank when he got home.

Craft fairs are my favorite way to buy Christmas decorations!  When we bought our first house, I went around to small craft fairs in our town and bought cute, handmade items for great prices.  I have NO business buying any Christmas decorations anymore (I have almost too much), but I couldn’t resist a couple of things.  I bought this cute little wooden snowman for my sister-in-law, shhhhh, don’t tell her…

2008 Nov 133

…and I bought this really cute snowman runner that I’m going to put on top of my bookcase when we decorate for Christmas:

2008 Nov 134

I have a “thing” for snowmen, which you will see once I show some pictures of our Christmas decorations.

This is just a long-winded way of saying that if you need to be somewhat thrifty when decorating for Holidays, don’t rule out craft fairs.  Not everything will be “cheap” (and it shouldn’t be, craftspeople spend a lot of time and energy making things…) but you can get a great selection of unique, handmade items for a good price, and you’ll be helping out local craftsmen and women.  Check the internet, and your local newspapers for upcoming events in your area.

